Domain Name Licensing Opportunity

More of a domaining post than a BuzzPal one, but anyway, since BuzzPal’s founder owns hundreds of domain names, might as well:

Last night I got an email from my GoDaddy account executive. She was asking for “domains in the following verticals that you would consider leasing? loan, debt settlement and debt relief verticals. I think they would prefer .com.”

So I wondered why these names, why now.

As you know, if you follow my personal blog, chrisco.us, I follow economics and financial markets pretty closely, and I was 1-2 years in front on calling the top of the housing and credit bubbles, as were many others (here’s a summary of what happened). Anyway, it’s this mess that needs to get cleaned up, and as usual it’s going to be the taxpayers who foot the bill. So I hopped on over to MarketWatch.com for a quick temperature check. Low and behold, I found this on the front page:

Dodd and his House counterpart, Rep. Barney Frank, D-Mass., are working to allow the FHA to back as much as $300 billion in refinanced loans for homeowners who are facing foreclosure. Frank held hearings on his bill Wednesday and Thursday. The idea won support from some state and city officials on Thursday. Source: MarketWatch: Housing-aid plans move forward in Washington.

So this is the opportunity:

  • Put together a branded web- and phone-based loan origination front-end (use private label vendor, of which I know of a few good ones, from my days as a loan officer)
  • Utilize a processing, underwriting and closing vendor.
  • Drive traffic and phone calls.
  • Or just find someone to license the domain names to for 6-12% of revenue.

Anyway, these are the best names I own that would be perfect for this:

  • RefinanceExpress.com
  • RefinanceAmerica.com
  • RefinanceUSA.com
  • LoanManager.com

Put the word out and broker a deal and we should be able to work out a finder’s fee of 6-12% of my revenue, depending on how strong of a deal we cut with the licensor. Contact me through the BuzzPal contact form.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button AddThis Feed Button
Subscribe to this blog via RSS or email.

4 Responses to “Domain Name Licensing Opportunity”

  1. […] I usually don’t post the same blog on both my personal blog and business blog, but this is an exception because I wanted to get maximum exposure for this opportunity. Spread the word, please. Thanks. Read the details here. […]

  2. I just stumbled across your post of last April and was curious to see how you have made out because I have a lot of DNs for different types of business and political niches. Have had experience in licensing patents, and technical knowhow and decided that licensing DNs and related concepts would be more lucrative than attempting to sell names to “Domainers” (bottom feeders.)

    I would think that licensing or leasing DNs as part of an intellectual property package could be more lucrative for the long run and easier for a small business to get into instead of paying top dollar to purchase a great/good/relevant DN.

    I would appreciate any feedback you can give me on the general topic. Thanks.
    Jim Kirk

  3. Hi Jim,

    Thanks for the comment and sorry for the delayed reply, I was in DC for the Obama inauguration).

    So far, I have licensed any domain names, although, like you said, it is a great opportunity for all parties to put names to use for little upfront cost. People and companies are doing this, just like they are licensing everything else that we can imagine. It ain’t rocket science and the business models, negotiating variables, clauses, options, outs, etc. are well understood and covered.

    That’s all I got right now, though. I look forward to any further comments or discussion.

    Cheers,
    Chris

  4. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

